July 23, 2021

All-CNY High School Sports Awards 2020-21: See list of nominees

The high school sports calendar ended with a bang, with a picture-perfect Championship Saturday and a sign that normalcy will return in the fall.

Before we turn the page to next season, we’re celebrating the best from the 2020-21 season with the fourth edition of the All-Central New York High School Sports Awards.

Top male and female athletes will be honored in the event hosted by syracuse.com sports personality Brent Axe.

New awards honoring the best in bowling and gymnastics will be handed out, as will a new special Unsung Hero award for the athlete who went above and beyond the typical scope of a scholastic athlete during a trying year.

The video will include highlights from the season, and the top athletes in each sport will be announced.

Other awards presented include:

Team of the Year
Coach of the Year
Play of the Year
Sportsmanship Award
Here is the full list of nominees for each sport:

Large school

Drew Alvarez, Cicero-North Syracuse

Exavier Brumfield, West Genesee

Dan Eward, Baldwinsville

J.J. Guinday, Liverpool

Rowan Marsell, Indian River

JJ Razmovski, Cicero-North Syracuse

Small school

Jack Comer, Skaneateles

Nate Heller, General Brown

Nazier Kinsey, Bishop Ludden/SAS

AJ Rothfeld, Cazenovia

Andrew VanPatten, Homer

Devon Youker, Canastota

Boys soccer
Large school

Jack Branigan, Baldwinsville

Francesco Pagano, Fayetteville-Manlius

Zach Shufelt, East Syracuse Minoa

Benito Vlassis, Christian Brothers Academy

Small school

Bo Ben Yehuda, Westhill

Michael Gaughan, Bishop Ludden

Andrew Neumann, Skaneateles

Kade Ozog, Poland

Girls soccer
Large school

Lauren Clark, Fayetteville-Manlius

Emma Herrmann, Central Square

Hannah Mimas, Baldwinsville

Anna Rayhill, New Hartford

Small school

Rory Richard, Holland Patent

Amanda Sweet, Poland

Kaitlyn Williams, Clinton

Samantha Wynne, Marcellus

Boys cross country
Large school

Ryan Cartwright, Liverpool

Colin DeLaney, Baldwinsville

Peyton Geehrer, Fayetteville-Manlius

Matthew LeClair, Cicero-North Syracuse

Small school

Caleb Bender, Skaneateles

Cory Demo, Beaver River

Matt Persampieri, Skaneateles

Jared Smith, Cazenovia

Girls cross country
Large School

Elizabeth Lucason, Camden

Grace Kaercher, Fayetteville-Manlius

Kate Putman, Cicero-North Syracuse

Emily Toth-Ratazzi, Rome Free Academy

Small school

Lexi Bernard, South Lewis

Taylor Harvey, Clinton

Hannah Ielfield, South Lewis

Brooke Rauber, Tully

Boys basketball
Large school

Dan Anderson, Christian Brothers Academy

Devin Mascato-Buffaloe, East Syracuse Minoa

Jack Broderick, Fulton

Adam Dudzinski, West Genesee

Small School

Aiden Retzos, Faith Heritage

Josh O’Connor, Weedsport

Ben Barnes, DeRuyter

Gavin Macauley, Lowville

Girls basketball
Large school

Jessica Cook, Cicero-North Syracuse

Catie Cunningham, West Genesee

Amaya Williams, Nottingham

Kaia Henderson, New Hartford

Small School

Sydney Lusher, Oneida

Suzie Nemec, Weedsport

Jackie Piddock, South Jefferson

Katie MacLachlan, Marcellus

Boys bowling
Rich Lambrecht, Homer

Mitch Donaldson, Fulton

Tanner Rozyezko, Baldwinsville

Girls bowling
Eliana Occhino, Christian Brothers Academy

Lexi Ingersoll, Fulton

Amelia Ponto, Baldwinsville

Rylee Fishkin, Fayetteville-Manlius

Kiara Khiamdavanh, Whitesboro

Miranda Smith, New Hartford

Sienna Zuccaro, New Hartford

Field hockey
Hanna Corrigan, Holland Patent

Mackenzie Mix, Camden

Gianna Trunfio, Clinton

Alexia Wagner, Cicero-North Syracuse

Ice hockey
Jeremy Keyes, West Genesee

Garrett Krieger, Skaneateles

Kodi Dotterer, Christian Brothers Academy/Jamesville-DeWitt

Noah Scranton, Whitesboro

Boys golf
Punn Chittaratlert, Jamesville-DeWitt

Tynan Jones, Skaneateles

Matt LaCombe, Fayetteville-Manlius

Alexander Pompo, Baldwinsville

Shawn Colella, Marcellus

Gabe Williams, Waterville

Girls golf
Mia Avotins, Liverpool

Nataly Avotins, Liverpool

Lucy Fowler, Fayetteville-Manlius

Annie Kilmatrin, Christian Brothers Academy

Boys Tennis
Essex Glowaki, Jamesville-DeWitt

Ben Vlassis, Christian Brothers Academy

Hatcher Gutchess and Andre Newman, Skaneateles

Max Funiciello and Nick Licciardello, Baldwinsville

Girls Tennis
Giselle Vlassis, Christian Brothers Academy (singles)

Grace LaFountain, New Hartford (singles)

Ella Danforth and Emily Miller, Skaneateles (doubles)

Katie Viau and Angelina Llanos, West Genesee (doubles)

Girls swimming
Kaitlyn Carroll, Cicero-North Syracuse

Lauren Kelly, Christian Brothers Academy

Kayla Newman, Christian Brothers Academy

Hana Spaulding, Skaneateles

Alexa von Holtz, Mexico

Boys swimming
Griffin Merkling, Liverpool

TJ Clayton, Fulton

Justin Nowicki, Syracuse City (Westhill)

Justin Byrnes, West Genesee

Girls volleyball
Large school

Brooke Clute, Baldwinsville

Morgan Napier, Fayetteville-Manlius

Brooke Segars, Cicero-North Syracuse

Linda Shen, Jamesville-DeWitt

Small school

Kate Heinrich, Westhill

Lauren Jones, Mount Markham

Maddy McCormack, Remsen

Bronte Stahl, Marcellus

Boys volleyball
Trace LaRobardiere, Cicero-North Syracuse

Brandon Millias, Cicero-North Syracuse

Anthony Pezzino, Liverpool

Brandon Rogers, Fayetteville-Manlius

Marek Bush, Central Valley Academy

Mason Bush, Central Valley Academy

Jacob Null, Dolgeville

Kole Mulhauser, Central Square

Sam Sorenson, Homer

Girls track and field
Maya McKenzie, Fayetteville-Manlius

Kate Putman, Cicero-North Syracuse

Karizma Brathwaite, Syracuse Central ITC

Elizabeth Toth-Ratazzi, Rome Free Academy

Hannah Ielfield, South Lewis

Boys track and field
Azzan Johnson, Utica Proctor

Jacob Swavely, Rome Free Academy

Caleb Bender, Skaneateles

Cory Demo, Beaver River

Boys lacrosse
Carter Kempney, Carthage

Johnny Keib, Jamesville-DeWitt

Will Hardy, Tully

Luke Stratton, Fayetteville-Manlius

Girls lacrosse
Abbie Izzo, Auburn

Olivia Muscolino, Baldwinsville

Skyler Constantino, Jamesville-DeWitt

Maggie Newton, Skaneateles

Cassidy Ormond, Cicero-North Syracuse

Doray DiLallo, Auburn

Aubrey Fraher, Marcellus

Delaney Wiley, Thousand Islands

Nick Jessen, West Genesee

Christopher AuClair, Baldwinsville

Ryan Birchard, Auburn

Wyatt Parliament, Thousand Islands