Triple Crown

High school sports: Oklahoma Carl Albert latest to earn ‘Triple Crown’ winning baseball, basketball, football title in same school year

Next Saturday is the Belmont Steak race, which marks the end of the triple crown race of the race. Spring is also the time of year when high schools have one last chance to win a state championship and perhaps complete their own version of the high school triple crown: a state title in soccer, basketball, and baseball.

While there are no Triple Crown winners in horse racing this year, there will be places for high school. Carl Albert (Midwest City, Oklahoma) completed the feat for the second time in the school’s history. The Titans were up 12-1 in soccer after winning the championship at Club 5. They went 23-4 with the title in Class 5 in men’s basketball and they finished 33-7 in baseball in the championship in Class III. Carl Albert also won a triple crown during the 200-0-07 academic year.

Maxprips has received 57 triple crowns in high school history, listed below in chronological order. Some states, such as Montana, Wyoming, and South Dakota, do not have triple crown winners because baseball is not endorsed by state associations. There are no longer Triple Crown winners in California because it doesn’t have the state baseball championship.

Then there’s Texas, which has never won a Triple Crown in a school year, largely because more than 200 schools compete in every playoff entry category. Munster won a triple crown in the 2017 calendar year, won state titles in basketball and baseball during the 2011-17 school year, and a football title during the fall of the 2011-18-16 school year.

This Triple Crown list includes only trifactus from the school year. The first Triple Crown is believed to have been the Rally (NC) in 193636, while Durham (NC) became the second school to win the Triple Crown three years later.

Winners of the Nevada King’s Triple Crown. The state has created 12 Triple Crown winners with various schools in the state and four competition-level enrollments. Bishop Gorman and Paharnagat Valley have accomplished this feat for three consecutive years between 2009-10 and 2011-12, with three Triple Crown winners, Prahrangat Valley.

Bishop Gorman’s trio of 2009-10 may be the most influential. The soccer team went 15-0, the basketball team 30-2-2, and the baseball team 36-6. Athletes on the rosters included future pros Ronnie Stanley, Xavier Grimbel, Shabaz Muhammad, and Joe Gallo.

Jackson Prep (Miss.) Has the highest triple crown of all schools. By participating in the Mississippi Independent Schools Association, Jackson Prep won the Triple Crown in 1974-75, 1979-80, 1990-91, and 2012-13.

Triple Crown: winning baseball, basketball, football title

Raleigh (N.C.), 1935-36
Durham (N.C.), 1938-39
Bristol (RI), 1940-41
Camden (S.C.), 1956-57
Medford (Ore.), 1959-60
Nashua (N.H.), 1959-60
Rancho (Las Vegas, Nev.), 1960-61
Rocky Mount (N.C.), 1962-63
Portsmouth (N.H.), 1964-65
Manchester Central (Manchester, N.H.), 1967-68

Marana (Tucson, Ariz.), 1968-69
Manchester Memorial (Manchester, N.H.), 1969-70
Roswell (Ga.), 1970-71
Jackson Prep (Jackson, Miss.), 1974-75
Jackson Prep (Jackson, Miss.), 1979-80
Creighton Prep (Omaha, Neb.), 1980-81
Virginia City (Nev.), 1981-82
Virgin Valley (Mesquite, Nev.), 1982-83
Virgin Valley (Mesquite, Nev.), 1984-85
North Valley (Grants Pass, Ore.), 1984-85

Clinch County (Homerville, Ga.), 1988-89
Jackson Prep (Jackson, Miss.), 1990-91
Lincoln County (Panaca, Nev.), 1991-92
Lincoln County (Panaca, Nev.), 1992-93
Cherry Creek (Greenwood Village, Colo.), 1994-95
St. Raphael Academy (Pawtucket, R.I.), 1995-96
Bishop Hendricken (Warwick, R.I.), 1996-97
Mountain View (Mesa, Ariz.), 1997-98
Manchester Central, (Manchester, N.H.) 1999-2000
St. David (Ariz.), 2001-02

Juan Diego Catholic (Draper, Utah), 2004-05
Carl Albert (Midwest City, Okla.), 2006-07
Fort Wayne Bishop Luers (Ind.), 2007-08
Bishop McGuinness (Oklahoma City), 2007-08
Wheeling Central Catholic (Wheeling, W. Va.), 2008-09
Essex (Essex Junction, Vt.), 2009-10
La Cueva (Albuquerque), 2009-10
Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas), 2009-10
Pahranagat Valley (Alamo, Nev.), 2009-10
Pahranagat Valley (Alamo, Nev.), 2010-11

Fruitland (Idaho), 2010-11
Pahranagat Valley (Alamo, Nev.), 2011-12
Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas), 2011-12
Jackson Prep (Jackson, Miss.), 2012-13
Harding Academy (Searcy, Ark.), 2012-13
Shanley (Fargo, N.D.), 2012-13
Rice Memorial (South Burlington, Vt.), 2013-14
Rice Memorial (South Burlington, Vt.), 2014-15
Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas), 2014-15
Heritage Hall (Oklahoma City, Okla.), 2014-15

Madison Academy (Madison, Ala.), 2014-15
Bishop Hendricken (Warwick, R.I.), 2015-16
Valor Christian (Highlands Ranch, Colo.), 2016-17
Brentwood Academy (Brentwood, Tenn.), 2016-17
Windsor (Vt.), 2017-18
Banks (Ore.), 2018-19
Carl Albert (Midwest City, Okla.), 2020-21

Please check back on News for more details:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *